From: Aaron W. Brown (aaron_at_designcraft.com)
Date: Mon Apr 26 1999 - 12:03:39 EDT
I have a couple of thoughts on this issue which I don't think have been
addressed yet.
I too tried to order this Thinkpad. I don't have much sympathy for them
and here's why:
I called the 800 number to order. As soon as I said "I would like to order
a Thinkpad", the person said "You mean that $300 one? That was a typo, we
don't even have any in stock." (no bait and switch was attempted on their
part)
I called them on the phone rather than order online because there was no
way I would give them my:
A. credit card number
B. email address
I would suggest they collected quite a few of both over the 3 DAYS(!) that
price was listed. Many folks set up new accounts and might return just
because of that. How many people bookmarked this $313.95 site?
Also: Now that they have your email address they might market to you
(spam) in a future email.
Another issue:
Is this online dealer intentionally posting low prices to insure they come
up as "the low price" in these popluar price tracker sites like
pricescan.com? Low price, yes, but so low they don't need to honor it.
This would have the effect of getting the online dealer noticed by potential
buyers who were previously unaware of the site.
Even if these are not the reasons for the $313.95 Thinkpad, remember this
rule of advertising:
I don't care what you say about me as long as you spell my name correctly.
Similar to "Any PR is good PR".
One more idea (the dealer is the victim): The dealer's site maintainer
gets paid by the "hit".
I would not discourage or judge anyone who wants to fight them to honor
their price. The BBB should at least warn people of these practices.
Aaron Brown
This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Thu Jan 23 2003 - 09:54:54 EST