From: Bill Morrow (penzance_at_icanect.net)
Date: Mon Nov 29 1999 - 00:36:29 EST
Bruce...
OK.. :-) <sheepish grin>
you may be correct and i should NOT have assumed..!
Bruce Markowitz wrote:
> I recently had a Toshiba Tecra with a metal "security" tag on the
> bottom. It stated an 800 number to call if you "found" the laptop, and
> that the tag could not be removed. Of course I removed the tag, and
> underneath there was a type of "tape" emblazoned with the words:
> STOLEN PROPERTY CALL 1-800-STOLEN PROPERTY (or some such, I don't
> remember the number).
> Fact is, I bought the machine wth the box, manuals and all the goodies.
> I called Toshiba, and the original registered owner is the guy I bought
> it from!!
> So, this was some stupid anti-theft device, but did not at all mean the
> laptop was stolen.
> It was stupid, because how can you resell it with something like that on
> it?
> Bottom line, the one on ebay may not be stolen - some folks have a
> password set up with that logo telling you to call the number, because
> they bought that service from someone.
> OF course, if you call the number, they are not going to give you the
> password!
> I do think the buyer is screwed, but I question whether the machine is
> stolen - I would not just assume.
>
> Bill Morrow wrote:
> >
> > Amazing is it not..!!
> > selling what APPEARS to be a stol... uhhh... MISappropriated! machine
> > and people are actually bidding on it..
> > and its up to $1100 now..
> >
> > "James H. E. Maugham" wrote:
> >
> > Dave,
> >
> > > BTW, has anyone heard of/done business with EX/Portable?
> > They showed up
> > in my
> > > pricescan
> > > search with lots of very low prices on older model
> > laptops, including a
> > TP600
> > > P2-233 for
> > > $1600 that is tempting the heck out of me.
> >
> > There's often several 600s on eBay and the 233 to 266 MHz
> > units all seem to
> > go for around $1K to $1.2K loaded with RAM. The PII 300s go
> > for a lot more,
> > I don't really know why.
> >
> > There's even a BIOS password protected one being offered at
> > http://cgi.ebay.com/aw-cgi/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=205737511
> > where the
> > seller has the temerity to complain that when he contacted
> > the 800 number
> > displayed on the screen on startup, they declined to give
> > him the password
> > and asked him to return their machine. Obviously he didn't
> > feel obligated to
> > do so.
> >
> > BTW, the bid for the unit is up to $660.00. I hope that it
> > doesn't simply
> > have the BIOS password set but also the Supervisor password,
> > in which case
> > the purchaser is screwed!
> >
> > Regards,
> >
> > James
> >
> > --
> > Happy trails...
> >
> > ** Bill Morrow ** :-)
> > WEB page http://thinkpads.com
> > e-mail: bill_at_thinkpads.com, penzance_at_icanect.net
> >
-- Happy trails...** Bill Morrow ** :-) WEB page http://thinkpads.com e-mail: bill_at_thinkpads.com, penzance_at_icanect.net
This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Thu Jan 23 2003 - 09:55:36 EST