Beware of ChaseShop.com (was Re: [560] Where to find used 560

New Message Reply Date view Thread view Subject view Author view Attachment view

From: Not Me (notme_at_itr.com)
Date: Tue Oct 10 2000 - 18:55:06 EDT


I did a search on CNET looking for the elusive Port 640BLK CD-ROM
drive case for my ThinkPad 600E.

ChaseShop claimed to have the item in stock on CNET and still does
this minute as I write this.

After placing my order at the ChaseShop.com Web site, which means
filling out the forms for billing and shipping address and providing
a credit card number, I received an e-mail regarding my order that
contained the following paragraph at the bottom.

>Please note that this Order Confirmation is not an acceptance or
contract.
>Further note that ChaseShop.com shall not be liable for any failure
to perform
>due to causes beyond the reasonable control of ChaseShop.com. These
causes
>shall include, without limitation to, acts of God, acts or omissions
of
>customer or any third party, delays in transportation or inability
to obtain
>necessary labor, materials or supplies. We also reserve the right
not to
>fulfill the order at our sole discretion.

This immediately raised a red flag. The above paragraph IMO is
nothing but a collection of "weasel words."

Lo and behold, the next day I received an e-mail message from
ChaseShop.com tat said:

>Order #: 168763

>The item below you recently ordered on ChaseShop.com is not
currently
>available. In order to spare you unnecessary or prolonged delays, we
have
>cancelled the specific item(s) from your total order. Please Note:
You will
>receive additional emails for any other items in your order
indicating if they
>have been shipped or cancelled.

>Item: Large Accessory Pouch Carrying Case for CD-Rom or HD
>Qty: 3

Fortunately, I did not order any other items.

I have since confirmed with ChaseShop.com that there is no way for
the customer to confirm on the ChaseShop.com Web site whether or not
a given product is available before going through the (to me onerous)
process of placing an order.

On a brighter note, I ordered the elusive ThinkPad 600 Ultraslimbay
hard drive adapter from Solutions4SURE.com and received an e-mail
message with this welcome subject heading.

>Subject: Hi John, we shipped your order #B00105532

This e-mail message from Solutions4SURE.com also contains a link to
UPS for tracking the shipment.

So, I guess the score is one to one. I've eliminated one supplier,
ChaseShop.com, and found a new supplier, Solutions4SURE.com. This is
my first order with Solutions4SURE.com. It probably won't be my last.
Let's see, does Solutions4SURE.com have the elusive Port 640BLK
CD-ROM drive case?

Regards,

John
aka Not Me


New Message Reply Date view Thread view Subject view Author view Attachment view

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Thu Jan 23 2003 - 09:56:31 EST