Re: [Thinkpad] [OT] Fake Paypal Email Warning!

From: gwydion <gwydion_at_courvilles.com>
Date: Sun Apr 27 2003 - 14:07:40 EDT

Forward it to PayPal's security center, and make sure you include
the header info.

"James H. E. Maugham" wrote:
>
> Just thought I would share with you folks that I just got a _VERY_ offical
> looking fake email purporting to be from Paypal and asking for ALL kinds of
> interesting CC info including my ATM PIN!
>
> *****************************************
>
> Subject: Dear PayPal Customer
>
> This e-mail is the notification of recent innovations taken by PayPal to detect
> inactive customers and non-functioning mailboxes.
>
> The inactive customers are subject to restriction and removal in the next 3
> months.
>
> Please confirm your email address and and (sic!) Credit Card info number by
> logging in to your PayPal account using the form below:
>
> Email Address:
> Password:
> Full Name #:
> Billing Adress #:
> Billing State #:
> Credit Card #:
> Exp.Date(mm/yy) #:
> ATM PIN (Bank Verification) #:
>
> *****************************************
>
> Obviously, this is a SCAM, so if anyone else gets a similar message PLEASE do
> not respond to it!
>
> I wonder how many hundreds of bank accounts the poster has managed to empty with
> this one email.
>
> (Yes, I've reported it to Paypal.)
>
> Regards,
>
> James
>
> _______________________________________________
> Thinkpad mailing list
> Thinkpad@stderr.org
> http://stderr.org/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/thinkpad
_______________________________________________
Thinkpad mailing list
Thinkpad@stderr.org
http://stderr.org/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/thinkpad
Received on Sun Apr 27 14:10:16 2003

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.8 : Fri May 26 2006 - 16:00:41 EDT