Re: [Thinkpad] From the FAQ

From: Rob Bell <RobDBell_at_mailworks.org>
Date: Mon Apr 07 2008 - 11:22:10 EDT

Strange. I have been having success with the old URL using Firefox, but
after trying again with IE and Netscape I find that they indeed do fail
like you say. What's happening is that the old page is still there but
is set to auto-redirect to the 'page has moved' page. My Firefox
installation has NoScript add-on so it doesn't allow the scripting that
does the auto-redirect. If I disable NoScript for ibm.com then it also
goes to the 'page has moved' page. How about that, a perfectly good web
site that breaks itself when allowed to do so! I have no idea why they
would maintain the old warranty lookup page intact but with this
under-the-covers redirect instead of just retiring the page.

Anyway, they must be trying to transition off the old URL so I'll try to
remember to update the FAQ with the other URL next time I send it out.

Rob

Evgeni Golov wrote:

> On Sun, 06 Apr 2008 11:02:20 -0500 Rob Bell wrote:
>
>
>>The original URL still works fine for me too. Are you folks sure you're
>>copying it into your browser correctly, without the <> brackets on the
>>ends and making sure it is fully intact (no line breaks shortening it)?
>
>
> Yes I am sure.

[CONFIDENTIALITY AND PRIVACY NOTICE]

Information transmitted by this email is proprietary to Medtronic and is intended for use only by the individual or entity to which it is addressed, and may contain information that is private, privileged, confidential or exempt from disclosure under applicable law. If you are not the intended recipient or it appears that this mail has been forwarded to you without proper authority, you are notified that any use or dissemination of this information in any manner is strictly prohibited. In such cases, please delete this mail from your records.
 
To view this notice in other languages you can either select the following link or manually copy and paste the link into the address bar of a web browser: http://emaildisclaimer.medtronic.com

______________________________________________________________________
This email has been scanned by the MessageLabs Email Security System.
For more information please visit http://www.messagelabs.com/email
______________________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________
Thinkpad mailing list
Thinkpad@stderr.org
http://stderr.org/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/thinkpad
Received on Mon Apr 7 11:22:29 2008

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.8 : Fri May 02 2008 - 00:00:07 EDT